Life is a feather in the wind

This is an old Egyptian song which I like very much, and I wanted to share with you. It is called in Arabic ” Eldonia risha fi hawa” which means “Life is a feather in the wind”. It was a part of the 1957 Egyptian film “They taught me love” starred by Saad Abdelwahab and Eman. The singer with the warm voice you will be listening to is Saad Abdelwahab, the nephew of the great Egyptian musician and composer Mohamed Abdelwahab. Saad Abdelwahab was born in 1926, graduated from the faculty of agriculture, but he was inclined more toward arts, and so he started working as a broadcaster in the Egyptian radio for several years, until he got the chance to sing and act for the first time in the movie “bread and salt” for the director Hussein Fawzi. Saad’s songs and artistic works in general were not so many, but they were beautiful, touching, and alive up till now, and the song I am sharing with you today is one of his famous and beautiful songs.

Many people (including Egyptians themselves!) don’t know that the Egyptian cinema was one of the oldest in the world. Many people don’t know that by 1908 there were 10 movie houses in Egypt, with 5 of them in Cairo, and 3 in Alexandria, and that by 1912 the Egyptian producer Abdel Rahman Salheya hired some foreign technicians to help him start making the first Egyptian short films.
I am not the suitable person to talk about the history of cinema, be it the Egyptian or the international cinema, but sometimes when I look at our Egyptian recent history, I just ache! I ask myself many questions, where did our taste go? where did our tolerance and beautiful ideals go? Who did change our society like this and how did he do it?! There are a lot of answers but none of them sound that convincing to me, but within my grief there is hope, and I remember what I have always believed in..Life is a continuous process of pushing in different directions, and like many fascists do push us towards ugliness and retardedness, I will keep pushing in the opposite direction in every possible way I can together with many other fellow Egyptians who appreciate beauty, art, freedom and above all life!

I understand that most of you are non-Egyptians who must have got bored with my mourning! 🙂 So let’s leave it just here and move to the beautiful song 🙂

Above you will find a link for the song, and here you will find a translation of the lyrics. I know that it is always more joyful to listen to a song and understand its lyrics, so I translated them for you to enjoy. I apologise that I could not maintain the rhyme, but at least I delivered the meanings, and I hope you all enjoy the song.

Life is a feather in the wind
flying without wings
today we are together
tomorrow where are we?
just in life!

How many times
people do meet without a date
and how many times
people do beg parting
to stay away from them!

Whose hands brought them together
and scattered them again?
why did they meet
and for what did they part?
who knows?!

Life is a feather in the wind
flying without wings
today we are together
and tomorrow where are we?
just in life!

You who ask about life
just live it the way it is
with the smile it gives at times
and the ache it brings other times
so weird is life
compassionate and cruel
giving or taking without any rule!
just live life!

Life is a feather in the wind
flying without wings
today we are together
and tomorrow where are we?
just in life!

Ramleh_Station_Zaman_around_1930_(Alexandria)

Her Wild Stallion

5 Responses to “Life is a feather in the wind”

  1. Hi,

    I stumbled upon your blog and felt like I discovered a hidden treasure! There are so few online resources dedicated to the lifestyle in Egypt. Having lived in San Francisco for several years, I miss being connected to local like-minded people.

    We are also an Egyptian couple who lives the lifestyle. I have not told my Queen yet about the blog and will wait for an opportune time to surprise Her.

    Keep it up. You have a new fan.

    Tarek

    • Thank you very much Tarek for your interest and your nice words. It is always nice to find more and more fellow travelers 🙂
      I really felt happy when I saw your comment and knew about the presence of another real Egyptian couple who are into the lifestyle.
      I agree with you that there are very few online resources dedicated to the lifestyle ( or actually anything!) in Egypt, and that was one reason for starting our blog, to discuss the lifestyle from the perspective of an Egyptian eastern loving couple, to present it in a proper way instead of the negative stereotypical images about the lifestyle that are common among most people.

      I hope you enjoy the blog when you read more in it, and I also hope it would be a nice surprise to your lady.
      So, welcome back to Egypt, and welcome to our blog.

  2. Reblogged this on stillhope2013 and commented:
    nice memories

  3. Being a western Matriarchal Sufi, I, of course, have fallen in love with your blog. your wine is delicious and stimulating. I salute you both, Thank you.

    • You are very welcome.
      Actually I do like the poetic nature of your comment, which truly fits with a Sufi. That is exactly how thoughts and feelings are supposed to be, just like fine wine that stimulates the mind, and enlightens the soul. I am very happy that finally someone took a sip! I am not yet a professional blogger ( if there is anything like this! ) so I don’t know if it is suitable to say this or not, but actually you are the sort of audience I have been looking for!
      You know, many times the discussions which come after a post are more rich and important than the post itself, so please let me know more about your views and opinions when you read further through the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

